Skip to main content

Are Oats Gluten Free?Why are some oats not gluten-free? Can oats be taken on a gluten-free diet?

 Are oats gluten-free? Someone posted this query in a group.

Why are some oats not gluten-free? Can oats be taken on a gluten-free diet? 

Well, research reveals that oats may or may not be gluten free. If they are processed in the same facility as whole wheat, then they are contaminated. The manufacturers clearly mention this on the labels whether the packet you are buying has gluten or is gluten free. On a side note, oats on their own are gluten free, though they contain a protein, known as avenin, (in trace amounts) that behaves just like gluten and might cause intolerance for those with sensitivity to gluten protein. So you should first check the labels when you buy oats. Secondly, if you are gluten intolerant, take a taste test with a small amount of oats to see if avenin causes any reactions, though research considers it relatively safe for those with celiac disease symptoms. 

But every human body is different and might react differently to certain compounds. You should always do a test to see if your body is happy with it or not. 

Types of oats

  • Whole oats groats are just like grains, which have endosperm, germ, and bran in tact, with only the hull removed.
  • Steel-cut oats are obtained by chopping whole oat groats coarsely. They need to be soaked for better absorption or cooked for longer. They are highest in fiber and lowest in GI of all types of oats. 
  • Rolled oats are a little easier to absorb and have a little less fiber . They are made by steaming oat groats, which are then rolled flat. They are also known as old-fashioned oats. 
  • Quick oats are the easiest for your body to digest because they are produced by steaming oat groats and cut rollaed oats into coarser particles. 

You will get maximum fiber from steel-cut, rolled oats.    

Why are some oats not gluten-free?

One study concludes, 

the consumption of oats was safe for adults with celiac disease. Since 1995, several additional studies have been published. Without exception, these investigations found no adverse effects associated with the regular consumption of moderate amounts of oats. However, there are concerns among some authorities on celiac disease that even if oats themselves are safe, they nonetheless may be contaminated with wheat, rye, or barley. Unfortunately, the extent to which contamination of commercial oat products occurs is not known. Ideally, if a patient appears likely to use oats, they should be advised to consume only those products tested and found to be free of contamination.

Studies suggest that people with celiac disease symptoms should wait to consume oats for at least 6 months of eating a gluten-free diet. That means you should start eating oats only after you have been on a gluten-free diet for at least a period of 6 months. 

The study concludes,

Oats uncontaminated with gluten should only be introduced after all symptoms of celiac disease have resolved and the individual has been on a GFD for a minimum of 6 months. Long-term regular medical follow-up of these patients is recommended but this is no different recommendation to celiac individuals on a GFD without oats.


Can celiacs eat oats? Better to consult with a doctor

are saffola oats gluten free, quaker oats gluten free, are whole grain oats gluten-free, what makes oats gluten-free, organic oats gluten free, are old fashioned oats gluten free, are quick oats gluten free, is jungle oats gluten-free,

How is gluten removed from oats?  There's no gluten in oats.

Why are oats gluten free?  They are gluten free.

Are oats actually gluten-free?  Yes, they are. But processing in the same facility as whole wheat might contaminate oats.

What is the difference between regular oats and gluten-free? Gluten free is different from regular oats. Read the labels to find if the packet is gluten free or not. It may be any type of oats.

 Is gluten-free oatmeal healthy? Absolutely.

Which oats are healthiest? Rolled oats, steel cut 

Are bananas gluten-free?  All fruits are gluten-free.

Does yogurt have gluten? NO

What food is high in gluten? Whole wheat, barley, rye

Are oats inflammatory? No

Are potatoes gluten-free?  YES

Is rice have gluten?  No

Do carrots have gluten?  NO

What food is naturally gluten-free? Vegetables and fruits, millets, milk, legumes, nuts and seeds

Why oats is not suitable for a person with celiac disease? 

A therapeutic gluten-free diet may not be nutritionally dense. It may lack fiber, essential amino acids, beta-glucans, and polyunsaturated fatty acids.

It is believed that most celiac disease patients can easily tolerate oats which makes them popular in a gluten-free diet.  

However, despite the plenty of oats benefits for celiac patients, it is advised to include oats cautiously.

Celiac patients in remission may start consuming oats cautiously to see if it has any adverse effects on their body. 

Certain varieties of oats may cause immunogenicity or toxicity for celiac patients.  So it is always better to consult with your doctor to see if celiacs can eat oats. 

There are hundreds of ways to make oatmeal delicious. Find hundreds of oats recipes here.


Popular posts from this blog

Can we use the soaked water for millets? Does millet need to be soaked?

 How long should millet be soaked before cooking? Soaking the millets overnight is a safe practice. Soaking breaks down the phytic acid in millets or for that matter grains and nuts. Phytic acid hinders the absorption of minerals and nutrients in food, including calcium, iron, and zinc. How? Phytates bind to minerals and nutrients and make their absorption difficult in the gut. Your tummy finds it tough to digest millets in that case. So soaking millets and draining off that soaked water makes it easier on your tummy.  Does millet need to be soaked? Yes, without soaking, you may not be able to derive benefits from millets. How much water do you need to soak millets? You may rinse millets well before soaking in at least double the amount of water.  How long should foxtail millet be soaked? All millets should be soaked overnight or for at least 6 hours. Soaking is a safe food practice that helps remove chemical and non-chemical toxicants that are an environmental hazard even in organic f

How To Make Weight Loss Cookies With Oatmeal | Diet Biscuits | Crispy Weight Loss Cookie Recipe Easy No Oven | Airfryer

Weight loss cookie recipe is hee - sugarfree, baking powder/soda free. Who says you cannot munch on cookies when on a diet? Of course, people will tell you a thousand tales to avoid calorie-laden cookies. But what if weight loss cookies are homemade with the best of ingredients available? weight loss cookies: a simple cookie recipe| airfryer cookies Okay wait! What does a weight loss regimen look like? What is the best food to eat on a diet? Which foods are best avoided for weight loss? Well, not a simple question, right? Worry not! This blog will help you find the key to living healthy following a healthy lifestyle. We live, eat, and talk healthy!! It's anywhere, anytime health on our minds. Of course, the only drawback is we do not breathe healthy, for there are so many pollutants in air these days that you cannot step out of your home without a burqa!!  Anyway let's come back to the w eight loss cookies recipe. Did I tell you this is a no baking p

How To Make Jowar Roti Without Breaking With Rolling Pin at Home [Sorghum Flour Recipes\Benefits]

Is Jowar good for weight loss? Is Jowar better than wheat? Is Jowar good in summer? Is Jowar good for thyroid? Is Jowar better than Bajra? Can Jowar be eaten everyday? Well, these are some of the most common questions people ask about sorghum flour. Well, sorghum benefits health in more ways than one. First, if you are wondering how to make jowar roti without breaking with a rolling pin at home, let's dig into it and see how to do that easily. The method I follow for making soft, fluffy jowar rotis came up in my mind after my successful trial of ragi jowar chocos at home. I was making sorghum flour chapati earlier as well. Back then, I would struggle to gather the dough and it would often break. But this method has been a revelation of its own. I am happy to share it with you all.  Jowar is heat or cold  Jowar or sorghum has a cold potency so that means you can enjoy it during summers as a coolant. I won't mind enjoying jowar or sorghum flour recipes during winters too because