Skip to main content

Do Oats Contain Gluten?

oats
Most of us are under the impression that oats, which are rich in fiber, contain gluten. However, this is not correct.

Research reveals that oats are completely safe for celiac patients. Generally, oats contain avenine, which are non-toxic proteins and easily tolerated by celiac disease patients. They don’t contain gluten. However, 1% of celiacs may show a reaction if they consume a large amount of oats regularly.

Pure oats are gluten-free. While most commercially processed oats are contaminated, some varieties of oats are grown and processed in uncontaminated environments and are sold under the label "gluten-free."

Though oats are not related to gluten-containing grains, including wheat, rye, and barley, they may sometimes be contaminated during growing, processing, or harvesting period. Such oats may not be safe to use.



Cross-contact can occur in the field where the crop is grown side-by-side with other grains, especially wheat, making oats contaminated.

Oats selected from sources contaminated by rye, wheat, or barley may cause gastrointestinal (GI) symptoms due to the increased fiber in oats.

Are Oats Gluten Free?
Historically, the safety of oats has been an issue of debate. Extensive research reveals that the majority of people with celiac disease can tolerate moderate amounts of uncontaminated, pure oats. In fact, pure oats are beneficial to those individuals with CD who can tolerate it, as these are a crucial source of proteins, fiber, and carbohydrates.

For celiac disease patients, the amount of pure oats in everyday diet should be limited to 50-70 grams (1/2 cup of uncontaminated oats) for adults and 20-25 grams for children.

Please go to the source to get a deeper insight on oats.

References
http://www.diabetes.org/food-and-fitness/food/planning-meals/gluten-free-diets/what-foods-have-gluten.html?referrer=https://www.google.co.in/

Comments

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular posts from this blog

Homemade Edible Powders: Beetroot, Onion, Garlic, Ginger, Lemon, Orange, Sambar, Kurma, Garam Masala

The title says it all. This post is all about edible powders that can be used as flavoring agents, natural color, and to make food visually attractive. What more do we need? Though I am not too much in favor of drying food and storing the same, this is the best option for those days when these veggies are out of season. During the season, please make it a point to enjoy these fresh and flavorful. There's nothing better and healthier than fresh produce, right?

Okay so the idea to make these powders popped up in my mind as I had too many beetroots at home. When nobody was too eager to have them, the best way to still consume these beauties was to sundry them to powder. I did exactly that.





Then I wondered if I can sundry lemon peels into powder just like we do to orange peels. I have been using orange peels as a face pack thus far. But since the baking bug has bitten me badly, I plan to use it as an edible powder for cakes and cookies too. Fingers crossed for the results though, sin…

The Best Multigrain Digestives: An Airfryer Recipe

The best multigrain digestives? I know I have shared too many digestives recipes but this one is my best. To be frank, I experiment, relish, share, and post the same for you all and then forget all about it because it's time to experiment again with new ingredients. So today it was another kind of digestives - relished by one and all. My cookie making spree has turned my cookie hater hubby into someone who has started to munch on these baked beauties.



Before sharing the simple cookie recipe, it is time to go through oats benefits. You are already aware of my love for oats. One reason you rarely find my recipes without this fibrous cereal grain. Did you go through the fiber benefits?











Go to my fiber benefits post to get deeper insight into the need for including fiber in your diet.



Ingredients
1 cup- oat flour
3/4 cup- whole wheat
1/4 cup- bran
1/4cup- ragi
2 tbsp- roasted quinoa powdered (roasted quinoa adds a nutty flavor to the recipe - substitute with almond powder if you do not h…

Diabetic Diet Cake With Watermelon: A Vegan Recipe

While people are still debating whether watermelon is a diabetes-friendly fruit, I still stick to my notion that diabetics can have this fruit for its sheer hydration effect. Not only this, the fruit is loaded with minerals, nutrients, and antioxidants that make it a health-friendly food. However, diabetics with kidney issues should avoid watermelon. Anyway, let's come back to the watermelon cake recipe for diabetics. Well, this cake uses another fruit - banana- which even I do not think is diabetes-friendly. But I went ahead with including a banana for this recipe merely to keep the fat content low. I hope you all know that a banana is a good substitute for an egg for an eggless cake recipe.

Since an egg is also loaded with saturated fat, diabetics should avoid it at any cost. So I had to choose between an egg and a banana for this diabetes-friendly cake, and ended up voting for this humble fruit - which is one of my favorites too. Yes!

When you think of a vegan diabetes-friendl…